Unprecedented Interest in Upcoming MD Democratic Party Officer Elections

Nov 21, 2018

Annapolis, MD—On the heels of the Blue Wave that swept over Maryland on Election Day, an unprecedented number of Democratic activists have submitted nomination forms to compete in the Maryland Democratic Party’s officer elections, which will be held on Saturday, December 1, 2018. Party chair Kathleen Matthews, who is running for re-election, welcomed the 17 Democrats who have filed to run for the 8 positions on the party’s executive committee:
“It’s exciting to welcome a new generation of Democrats interested in leading the party after our investment in grassroots organizing turned out more than 1.2 million Democrats on Election Day. As we look to the future, the Maryland Democratic Party has an opportunity to build on our successes at the ballot box this year to elect Democrats statewide and in every county in Maryland.”
Under the party’s by-laws, the Chair and three Vice-Chairs of the executive committee must be gender balanced, and each region in Maryland—Eastern Shore, Western Maryland, Southern Maryland, Baltimore City, Prince George’s County, Montgomery County and Baltimore County—must be represented on the committee. The counties that make up Western Maryland are Allegany, Carroll, Frederick, Garrett, Howard and Washington the Eastern Shore consists of Caroline, Cecil, Dorchester, Harford, Kent, Queen Anne’s, Somerset, Talbot, Wicomico and Worcester counties. Anne Arundel, Calvert, Charles, and St. Mary’s comprise Southern Maryland.
The elections will be held at the Democratic State Central Committee of Maryland meeting on Saturday, December 1, 2018 at 10:00AM at IBEW Local 26, 4371 Parliament Place, Lanham, MD 20706.
The names of candidates for each position on executive committee follow:
Kathleen Matthews, Montgomery County (incumbent)
Maya Rockeymoore-Cummings, Baltimore City
Vice-Chair (3 chosen: 2 men and one woman)
Scherod Barnes, Baltimore City (incumbent 1st Vice Chair)
Wala Blegay, Prince George’s County
Darlene Cocco-Adams, Southern Maryland
Allison Galbraith, Eastern Shore
Scott Kane, Eastern Shore
Cheryl Landis, Prince George’s County
Delegate Cory McCray, Baltimore City
Jeffrey Slavin, Montgomery County (incumbent 3nd Vice-Chair)
Nicole Williams, Prince George’s County
Robbie Leonard, Baltimore County
Erwin Rose, Montgomery County
Bob Kresslein, Western Maryland (incumbent)
Deputy Secretary
Abena McAllister, Southern Maryland
Malcolm Heflin, Baltimore County

Deputy Treasurer
Jake Burdett, Eastern Shore
Cheryl Landis, Prince George’s County
Laurie Brittingham, Eastern Shore 
Chrissy Holt, Southern Maryland
Scott Kane, Eastern Shore
Akil Patterson, Baltimore City